Federal and state laws prohibit discrimination in employment based on
The federal Family and Medical Leave Act allows employees who have been employed for the preceding 12 months to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave for a severe health condition or care for a parent, spouse, or child with a severe health condition. The law guarantees that the employee's job will be waiting for them upon timely return from leave.
When the state agency denies unemployment compensation because the employer claims the employee committed work-related misconduct or quit without fault on the employer's part, an appeal of the denial must be taken within 20 days after the denial is mailed. A hearing is then set, and the case will be heard by an appeals referee, generally by telephone.
Employees paid hourly must be paid at the rate of time and a half for hours worked after 40 hours in any workweek. Salaried employees may fall into several categories exempting them from the requirement of overtime pay.
Florida law protects employees who object to or refuse to participate in an activity, policy, or practice on the employer that violates law, rule, or regulation, and then suffers retaliatory adverse employment action. Other federal and state laws also protect whistleblowers as well.
Employees who have not been paid for hours worked, contractual commissions or bonuses can find redress in the Florida or federal courts. Documentary evidence that the money is owed is helpful.